This article outlines some advanced troubleshooting methods for WiFi connectivity on Windows devices.
Note: Most of the options included in this article are for advanced users and may require administrative privileges on your device. We offer this information to those with the access and ability to self-serve. All others are encouraged to reach out for support if you have any questions or concerns - 24/7 Support Center.
Note: To view the current DNS settings, type ipconfig/displaydns (can be used before and after DNS flush to verify it worked).
Google Public DNS is purely a DNS resolution and caching server; it does not perform any blocking or filtering of any kind, except that it may help resolve certain domains in certain situations.
IMPORTANT: Before you change your DNS settings to use Google Public DNS, ensure you have written down your current server address or settings. It is very important that you keep these numbers for backup purposes, in case you need to revert to them at any time.
Google Public DNS IP addresses
The Google Public DNS IPv4 IP addresses are as follows:
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
The Google Public DNS IPv6 addresses are as follows:
2001:4860:4860::8888
2001:4860:4860::8844
You can use either address as your primary or secondary DNS server.
This panel details how to perform a Winsock reset - a powerful Windows troubleshooting command used to resolve stubborn network and internet connectivity issues.
_______________
How to Run a Winsock Reset
_______________
When to Perform a Winsock Reset
You should consider running a Winsock reset if you experience:
_______________
What a Winsock Reset Does
_______________
A Winsock reset is quite specific and does not:
Note: A Winsock reset is often confused with the "Network Reset" feature in Windows 10 and 11. "Network Reset" is a much more drastic option that does remove and reinstall all network adapters and does forget all saved Wi-Fi networks and passwords.
This panels introduces how to perform a Network Reset.
Running a Network Reset uninstalls and reinstalls all your network hardware (Wi-Fi and Ethernet adapters) and resets every network component back to its factory default.
Note: This should not be done unless you are aware of or have researched all of the implications.
| Windows 10 | Windows 11 |
|
|